.


.

I guess that is the most frightening thing to have happen…
to forget your own name.
It happens sometimes and most people can bluff their way
thru the spot…
I forgot my own brothers name, ” This is my brother……(long pause)”
I twenty six and he was twenty,
and I was introducing him to my husbands boss
on the navy base…there surely is an appropriate word other than
boss but darned if I can think of anything other than “commanding officer”
and that’s not who it was.
Often I’ve joked that because of our age difference,
my brother and I were “only children”
and I think at times I must have believed it !
.
As a nurse, there are sometimes
soul touching moments.
One day, I went to retrieve a breakfast name tag from a
hundred year old resident.
When asked if she still had her name tag for her tray,
she reached under the covers,
smiled as she handed it to me and said,
“ever wake up in the morning, wonder who you are,
and THERE IT IS  ? ” . 

.
My own experience forgetting my own name,
which has happened more than once when nervous:
I am picking out the one most repeated by others.
My boss and I had gone to a seminar
on some type of positive interactions with people
that involved networking, bonding.
Of course there had to be a beginning exercise to
break the ice.

.
We were sitting with a group of others that we
knew so everyone was relaxed as we did the simple:
introduce yourself to ten people:  state your name,
where you work, and shake hands.
So away we went. We did it quickly, laughing.
I introduced myself  with the information while
shaking hands:
“Hello, I’m Sigrid Stevens from Collier’s.
Relaxed, in the company of friends, we laughed
as we introduced ourselves, speedily, over and over.
Until the end, when I turned to someone,
I, unfortunately, but not surprisingly, knew and said,
“Hello, I’m Sigrid Collier from Steven’s ! reversing the names.

.
Sigh.

.
Yes, to this day, decades later,
he and others still remember the day
I forgot my name.

.

