An Artist, Photographer, Writer, Poet

Daily Archives: October 29, 2011

.
Teenagers leave college

need home/food/money/laundry
sponge on parents:  get out !
.
.


.

Bianca hiding...if she can't see me, I can't see her.

.

Weekly Photo Challenge: Hidden
.
My cat, Bianca, has,
after almost four years of living with me
has just started to do funny things other cats do
normally, like climb on things…
my stereo, a favorite thing to sleep on,
dining-room table,
slept on a painting that I was working on…
.
Bianca came from a shelter as a rescue…
she didn’t like other homes that had
other cats, dogs, young children,
people who thought she should be a lap cat. 
She’d been returned there 3 or 4 times due
to incompatibility with other animals and people,
and inability to resolve differences of opinion.
.
She seems to think if she can’t see me, I can’t see her.  She’s
a smart cat otherwise !  She was trying to open the front door
when I noticed her on the dresser beside the door.  She turned
back to me and acted as if she was hidden from view.
.
.

.


The collywobbles
were unnerving as
I thought about what
it was I was about to do.
.
“Never !”  I said,”Never !”
I swore up and down,
that I’d never give in to peer
pressure.
It was a matter of class and
upbringing.
Lower class indeed.
.
I thought about how I would explain
myself.
It was so unlike me to give in
like this.
My energy became slower
and slower.
Drained by the collywobbles.
I moved like a turtle
unconcerned about the race.
My dead husband would say,
“my grandmother was slow,
but she was old.”
.
Now he said that lovingly
and in jest.
For his grandmother
was not slow,
she moved like a rabbit,
with speed and grace.
But I digress, as usual,
to postpone my trip.
.
I fed the cat,
took the collie
out for her constitutional
before I left home for
the big city.
.
The collywobbles made
me feel paralyzed in fear.
Most people get the wobbles
going in,
not wobble out
of these disreputable places.
.
I took a deep breath,
and took a cab.
When we arrived,
I got out..
and did not wobble.
I’d thought and thought,
and decided,
It will be.
my daughter’s name
wrapped in Christmas holly,
a festive tattoo
by Kat VonD.!
.
Sigh.
There’s no tattooist
a  better artist ,
nor a better
tattooist
to be found in
the world.
.
I guess it is better
to follow the
rule
“Never say never”
for it will happen
for sure
.
.