.

.

Today is Epiphany in the Christian churches.
I went to the early, 8 AM service,
at St Dunstan’s Episcopal church
…there were six of us there:
the priest and deacon.
It’s a meditative service…no music
with time planned for reflection or prayer.
A quiet service.
.
I sat in front by the tree, and mindfully
took in the familiar and the new since 1971.
The 3 wise men have made it to the manger
on time…that’s the photo above…
It was snowing outside…and since we don’t have
stained glass windows, it was like a cloud
surrounding the church waiting for angels
to appear.

.

I just thought…I have been married twice and divorced
twice and the Green Bay Packers/Minnesota Vikings
trigger the memories each time of the weddings.
.
In 1964 I got married on November 7 in Minneapolis, M
…..the Minnesota Vikings played the Green Bay Packers at Minnesota
the week before… that thought came from remembering
the Packers won last night…

.

1964 Saturday, November 1 Green Bay Packers 42-13 Minnesota Vikings 44,278 Bloomington, Minnesota

.
It was a big deal You can’t get married on the day of THE game,
so we got married on November 7.
.
January 6… I can’t do the math, (I think I DON‘T want to do the
math so the neurons are pausing for the moment)
it was so long  ago…in 1979 …
I got married the second time (and a year later on January 6,
the wedding was blessed in this very church),
with the same images of the holy Christmas season
… divorced 10 years.
it’s no eery coincidence but the game was on last night
Go Packers !  Packers won !
It is a funny thing to have a football game remind me of weddings…but
it does in a fun way.  My favorite football games on television were when
the weather made slush on the field
.
So, this stone is about memories …
bittersweet in the long run … for some.
Reflective, comforting for others.
.
.

.

LOGO - Mindful Writing Challenge Jan 2013Get our small stones badge

.

