.

blogspot.com

.

.

Sunday 

“the treadmill hours” *

the dreaded day 

of  

“what do people do 

on Sunday”

…. a sort of 

spin your wheels

kind of day

for me 

as a child 

and 

early teen.

.

We didn’t

go to church

tho I knew 

people did every week.

Read 

the Sunday comics…

after Dad read 

the paper first.

.

Mother

had a plan 

for

Sunday meals

it seems….

I laugh now,

 but it was normal

back in the day.

For a few weeks 

or 

months…

it seemed 

like months

 in my memory,

baked chicken, 

then 

yummy roast 

with

potatoes, carrots 

and onions

all

baked  together

til 

brown and delish.

.

remember 

wondering 

about what 

“other people” 

did on 

“treadmill hours Sundays”…

Reading 

in my room,

or watching sports 

on tv with Dad

(we got a tv 

with rabbit ears

when I was 10

or 11.

.

At first I was bored, 

 but got to

love 

the Milwaukee Braves,

Green Bay Packers 

and 

professional bowlers tour 

(that

might have been 

on Saturday…

so long ago 

it was).

 

Treadmill hours Sundays,

my first thought 

of  any Sunday

that I could remember 

a specific

memory.

.

Times changed.

I changed.

But 

when I’m at a loss 

for what

to do

…like today…

I remember,

Sundays 

were always a puzzle 

for me…

wondering what is it 

that

others do,

and why 

are Sundays

 so important

that 

what ever people DO 

on Sundays,…

why

 can’t they do it 

on Mondays,

or Tuesdays…

ANY 

day

 of the week.

Sigh

.

.

*The “treadmill hours” phrase is credited to

Hedgewitch at “Lifesentences” … it gave a name to those days

of wondering during my childhood of what DID

people do on Sundays.  Please read her post at:

HTTP://VERSISCAPE-LIFESENTENCES.BLOGSPOT.COM/2014/04/SUNDAY-SPACE.HTML

.

.

YOU ARE AMONG TOADS

“Think as I think,” said a man,

“or you are abominably wicked;

you are a toad.”

And after I thought of it, I said,

“I will, then, be a toad.” ~ Stephen Crane

 

You are among toads

 

 

