.

.

.

.

I love the delicate basket in the upper left hand 
corner with the dainty flowers by the hand…
awesome and spring-like !
.
.
I went to a favorite local craft store, Shirley’s Gifts,
Yarn’s and Crafts in Downeast Maine (Hancock).  There
I saw a flash from the past.  I had been sort of wondering
if the ladies at the UCC church down the street from
me still made and sold the handmade May Baskets.
 
I contacted a lady named Roberta Keep. 
She told me that a group named the “Busy Bodies” 
at the UCC Church used to make them and she contributed
some for their cause.              Roberta also made baskets
for the Ellsworth Unitarian Church.    She has been making 
May baskets since 2000.  She is the only person I know of
that is now making and selling them…and they are so 
gorgeous.  
.
An elfje poem I wrote last year:
.
Downeast
Maine tradition
pretty May Baskets
deliver secretly to love
run
.
When I came to Maine I found the interesting
tradition of making and giving May Baskets:
…cardboard milk cartons…small ones
and decorated with crepe paper in pretty colors
May baskets are small and light to hand on
the door knob of the entry door…
not always the front door here.
I understand, if it is a school age “crush” it is
hung on the door knob, door bell rang
and the person delivering runs and hides,
watches the person come to the door to see
their reaction.
.
The person finding the May Basket is then supposed
to find the person who delivered the May basket
and chase them ’til they let themselves be caught.
.
May Baskets are delivered to families and friends,
grandparents to their grandchildren.  
.
If you or your community has a similar tradition please
share it in the comment section.  I’d  love to hear from you.
