photo from prompt

.

My response to the prompt:

.

snow falling

dancing in snowflakes
.
child-like joy
.
.
Saradunn

.
==============
.

Unexpected and rare event
in Japan where we lived.
Unexpected accummulation
where snowfall usually melts
as fast as it falls.
In Wisconsin, USA, the snow
fall is an expected event and
much heavier.
Childish joy in the discovery
is a fond memory of my time
living in Minami Rinkan near
Tokyo in view of Mt Fuji.
My son had just been born
a few days before…
a neighbor cared for him as 
I delighted in the large wet snow
falling and covering the yard.

.

The Prompt:

Than I have here our Carpe Diem Special, a haiku by our featured haiku-poet, Richard Wright (1908-1960) … he was a forefighter of the Black Americans and in his last years he discovered haiku. He wrote a lot of haiku (more than 4000) and compiled an anthology of his own work with 880 haiku. He is really a great haiku-poet and I am loving his work very much. So let us go on to another wonderful haiku written by him. I have tried to use a haiku which is close to the GW-post earlier in this post. I think I have found a nice one to share here for your inspiration.

In the falling snow
A laughing boy holds out his palms
Until they are white.


© Richard Wright

The goal of the Carpe Diem Special is to write a haiku inspired on the given haiku by the featured haiku poet and try to touch the same sense, tone and spirit.

 

Here is my ( attempt:

through the early night
the laugh of children playing –
virgin snow

© Chèvrefeuille

.

