.
.
Do you have mental pauses ?
Putting important objects,
papers like passports,
birth certificates,
the reminder to renew your drivers license
in a “safe place”?
You swear the ghost in the house
took them away.
There has to be a ghost.
They took it away…
you wouldn’t be careless with such
important things.
.
My most frequent objects
in safe places are
my car keys
and eye glasses.
Oh, yes, these days my
cell phone and camera.
(ever misplace your
dentures or partial plate
…more than once and NEVER
to be found again?  Sigh
Just asking.)
.
The cry from the family is
deafening:
“I didn’t do it !
I think every house with
children or even with
another adult or two,
has an invisible person
named “EYE” and
Eye didn’t do it.
.
Myself, I think that my
ghost Lewis and Eye
must live in the
City that Never Wakes
since they are always
blamed, but never seen.
Or is it teenagers that
live in the
City that Never Wakes
… I get confused some days
looking for things in safe places
that seem logical at the moment.
Brain sprain.
.
The last place you look
is usually also
the first place you looked,
and didn’t see the object
that has become
invisible at that moment in
time.
.
Bill Cosby has a quick way to
remember where
“they” took it away to:
You stop looking,
pat yourself on the behind,
and you’ll remember
the secret hiding spot.
.
Bill’s theory is:
as soon as you
sit down,
you will remember
where to find “it”
the moment
your butt
hits the chair.
.
You will then yell
“AHA”!
in a deafening tone
remembering
absolutely
the last place
for you to look.

.
.